Nominate the shining stars at your local hospital

Help us celebrate the skill and dedication of our hospital staff and volunteers who make a real difference every day. Nominations are now open for the Patient First Star Awards 2020 and we want you to tell us who you would like to win.

The Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals (BSUH) annual Star Awards celebrate the hard work and achievements of people across the Trust throughout the year.

Patients and members of the public are encouraged to nominate a member of staff, volunteer, team or service who they feel has gone beyond expectations and is an inspiration to others.

Dr George Findlay, BSUH Managing Director, said:

“Staff and volunteers across the Trust have worked incredibly hard during the last 12 months. The awards are an ideal opportunity to recognise all the fantastic work that has gone into delivering the best care to our patients.

“Last year we received more than 750 nominations. It was an honour to read them and they were a wonderful way for people to say thank you to our staff and volunteers for everything they do.”

There are eight award categories open to nominations which reflect the behaviours and values we see across the Trust every day:

  • Team (contribution to outstanding care)
  • Extra Mile
  • Outstanding Leadership
  • Hospital Hero
  • Compassionate Care
  • Patient Champion
  • Support Services
  • Volunteer

A judging panel will consider all the nominations and the winners will be honoured at a special stars awards ceremony in July. The event is generously supported by the BSUH Charity which receives many donations from patients and visitors who want to thank staff for all the great care provided.

Has one of our staff, teams or volunteers provided you with exceptional care or gone the extra mile to improve your experience?

Please nominate them for an award – it is a great way to say thank you. You can nominate as many individuals or teams as you like, but please include as much detail as you can to help the judging panel choose this year’s winners.

Visit our website at to find out more. Nominations close on Sunday 14th March at midnight.